GFCO is committed to ensuring consumers receive accurate information concerning GFCO-certified products.

GFCO advises gluten-free consumers to exercise caution and contact GFCO before consuming or using any product with packaging that displays a questionable mark, or one that differs from the ones shown here (different font, proportions, portions removed, etc.).

This webpage is intended to keep consumers aware of important safety alerts regarding GFCO-certified products and products that are incorrectly bearing the GFCO logo. GFCO reserves the right to withdraw the certification of any company whose certified products appear on this page more than once.

The information on this page is current to the best of GFCO’s knowledge, but may not be an up-to-date list of all incidents that may occur in the marketplace. Again, if you have questions or concerns about a specific product, you should contact GFCO directly.

26 Feb 2019

August 26th, 2019

GFCO has become aware that Quest nutrition bars that are certified gluten-free are being sold with the following allergen statement:

“Contains Milk, Almonds, Wheat **   **Trace amounts are unavoidable in field grains. Oats used in this product are certified gluten-free.”

Wheat is not an intentionally-added ingredient in these products, and as such, GFCO has notified Quest that the wheat portion of the “Contains” statement, according to the FDA’s interpretation of FALCPA, which is provided below and can be found in this Q&A Page:


Is a major food allergen that has been unintentionally added to a food as the result of cross-contact subject to FALCPA’s labeling requirements?

No. FALCPA’s labeling requirements do not apply to major food allergens that are unintentionally added to a food as the result of cross-contact. In the context of food allergens, “cross-contact” occurs when a residue or other trace amount of an allergenic food is unintentionally incorporated into another food that is not intended to contain that allergenic food. Cross-contact may result from customary methods of growing and harvesting crops, as well as from the use of shared storage, transportation, or production equipment.

GFCO acknowledges that the inclusion of Wheat in the “Contains” statement for allergens presents an apparent contradiction of their gluten-free certification claim; however, GFCO regularly monitors the products and has confirmed that they are, in fact, gluten-free.

16 Feb 2019

February 16th, 2019

Nature’s Path Foods announced a voluntary recall of a specific production run of EnviroKidz Choco Chimps, Gorilla Munch and Jungle Munch cereals for they may contain undeclared gluten (wheat and barley). People who have a wheat allergy, celiac disease or sensitivity to gluten and wheat should not consume the cereals with the BEST BEFORE DATE listed below due to potential adverse health effects. Nature’s Path is also removing any affected cereals from customer store shelves and warehouses.


United States

EnviroKidz Choco Chimp 10 oz 0 5844987024 1 08/27/2019
EnviroKidz Gorilla Munch 10 oz 0 58449 86002 0 08/24/2019
EnviroKidz Gorilla Munch 10 oz 0 58449 86002 0 09/21/2019
EnviroKidz Jungle Munch 10 oz 0 5844987028 9 08/01/2019



EnviroKidz Choco Chimp 284 g 0 5844987023 4 08/27/2019
EnviroKidz Gorilla Munch 284 g 0 58449 86002 0 08/24/2019
EnviroKidz Jungle Munch 284 g 0 5844987027 2 08/01/2019

The error was isolated to one facility and due to air contamination as a result of incorrect production scheduling. Other gluten-free Nature’s Path and EnviroKidz products are not impacted and are not part of this voluntary recall.
Consumers requesting a refund for the affected cereals should return the product to their retailer. Consumers may also contact Nature’s Path Consumer Services at 1-866-880-7284 (between Monday and Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm PST) or email at


08 Feb 2019

August 8th, 2019

GFCO has learned that, prior to August 8, 2019, Farm Girl Club was using GFCO’s certification mark on their Nut Based Keto Bread Roll Mix, which is not certified gluten-free by GFCO. To our knowledge, Farm Girl Club has ceased using the certification mark on this product, however, if you purchased Farm Girl Club products prior to August 8, 2019,  the non-GFCO-certified product may incorrectly bear a GFCO certification mark. This product may be safe for consumption by gluten-free consumers, however consumers need to make that decision based on label reading and other means as necessary. You can refer to GIG’s bulletin for tips on reading labels.

1 8 9 10 11