This webpage is intended to keep consumers apprised of important safety alerts when it comes to GFCO’s attention that its certification marks are being improperly used on non-certified products. The information on this page is current to the best of GFCO’s knowledge, but GFCO does not warrant that this is an exhaustive list of all mislabeling that may occur in the marketplace. Again, if you have questions or concerns about a specific product, you should contact GFCO directly prior to consuming or using the product.
6/13/18 UPDATE TO NOTHIN’ BUT FOODS SAFETY ALERT POSTED 5/30/18: Nothin’ But Foods has announced that their newly rebranded packaging will launch in July of 2018, with the removal of the printing error listing barley malt extract in the ingredient list. Products still on store shelves in the old packaging do not actually contain barley malt extract.
6/4/18: GFCO has received a report that some ingredient lists of Know Allergies bars are labeled as containing malt flavor, an ingredient we do not allow in certified products. GFCO has spoken to the manufacturer, who confirmed that this is a label error and their products do not contain malt or any derivatives of gluten. These products present no risk to gluten-free consumers. The manufacturer is following up on this label issue, but the product presents no safety concern.
6/1/18: GFCO has learned that East Hampton Gourmet Foods has been using GFCO’s certification mark on at least one product that is not GFCO-certified gluten-free. GFCO does not certify any East Hampton products. East Hampton has told GFCO that it is no longer using the GFCO logo on new production runs, but incorrectly labeled product may still be on store shelves.